Why Palmitate is a common constituent of cells?

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

2Loula
Garter
Garter

Why Palmitate is a common constituent of cells?

Post by 2Loula » Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:57 pm

Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I cannot find any definite answers anywhere, though I am still looking, but if anyone has any info on this, it would be great.

Why is the organic compound hexadecane not a common constituent of cells, wheras Palmitate is?

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:36 pm

Palmitate has a carboxyl group that allows it to be slightly soluble in water, and, importantly, allows it to make esters so it can be used as a membrane lipid or converted to tryacylglycerol for storage etc...
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

siwel
Garter
Garter

Re: Why Palmitate is a common constituent of cells?

Post by siwel » Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:42 pm

2Loula wrote:Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I cannot find any definite answers anywhere, though I am still looking, but if anyone has any info on this, it would be great.

Why is the organic compound hexadecane not a common constituent of cells, wheras Palmitate is?

any chance you're at caledonian doing a life science, this problem solving book is murder

2Loula
Garter
Garter

Post by 2Loula » Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:56 pm

Yup, I am....I have spent bloody ages trying to find these questions using textbooks & the net.

Thanks MrMistery, I thought it had something to do with the carboxyl group. Your help is much appreciated.

Genivive1
Garter
Garter

Post by Genivive1 » Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:34 pm

2Loula wrote:Yup, I am....I have spent bloody ages trying to find these questions using textbooks & the net.