Dictionary » U » United arab emirates

United arab emirates

united arab emirates

A federation of seven states on the southeast portion of the arabian peninsula: abu dhabi, ajman, dubai, fujairah, ras al-khaimah, sharjah and umm al-qaiwain. In 1820 a treaty of peace was concluded between great britain and native rulers. During the 19th century the rulers agreed to suppression of the slave trade and restriction of foreign relations to great britain. The trucial council was established in 1952 and defense treaties with great britain terminated. In 1971 an independent six-member federation was formed, with ras al-khaimah joining the federation in 1972.

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

Results from our forum

The Fiber Disease

... mallei from an equine glanders outbreak in the United Arab Emirates. According to recent research from Germany, "A polymerase ...

See entire post
by London
Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:40 pm
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: The Fiber Disease
Replies: 7403
Views: 6254906

This page was last modified 21:16, 3 October 2005. This page has been accessed 929 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link