A republic in northern africa between algeria and libya. Its capital is tunis, which occupies the site of ancient carthage. Tunisia became a french protectorate in 1881 but was reorganised in 1922. France recognised its independence in 1956. The country takes its name from the capital, which some authorities derive from the name of the phoenician goddess tanith, the meaning of which is uncertain.

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

This page was last modified on 3 October 2005, at 21:16. This page has been accessed 776 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link