Dictionary » S » Second meiotic division

Second meiotic division


The second of the two consecutive divisions of the nucleus of eukaryotic cell during meiosis, and composed of the following stages: prophase II, metaphase II, anaphase II, and telophase II.


During second meiotic division, each of the two cells produced from first meiotic division divides further into two cells, each containing one of every decoupled chromosome’s sister strands (chromatids), thus, producing four genetically different, haploid cells.

Also called: meiosis II

Compare: first meiotic division
See also: meiosis

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

Results from our forum

unbalanced gender ratios of offspring

... is the exact reason for even sex rations, but reliance solely on the meiotic division sounds like a suspiciously simple answer, since nature would have surely found a means ...

See entire post
by biohazard
Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:51 am
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: unbalanced gender ratios of offspring
Replies: 6
Views: 5964

Genetics with Mitosis and Meiosis

... Mendels law of independent assortment and explain why it applies to meiotic cell division but NOT apply to mitotic cell division . I also have to refer to the diagram that ...

See entire post
by 1fh2
Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:23 am
Forum: Genetics
Topic: Genetics with Mitosis and Meiosis
Replies: 2
Views: 9318

some bio multiple choice questions

... be D? 3. The three nuclei in a mature pollen grain are formed by a. one meiotic division and one mitotic division. b. two meiotic divisions and one mitotic division. c. one ...

See entire post
by jjkwest1
Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:00 am
Forum: Botany Discussion
Topic: some bio multiple choice questions
Replies: 4
Views: 6450

Polar Bodies

In meiotic division, why are polar bodies called polar bodies? Thanks for the help.

See entire post
by mjwilliams10
Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:39 pm
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: Polar Bodies
Replies: 1
Views: 1945

mitotic/meiotic reproduction ratio?

... a normal human body, is it possible to estimate the number of mitotic divisions happening at some point of time? Is this mitotic cell division more frequent when compared to meiotic cell division?

See entire post
by deostroll
Fri May 20, 2011 7:56 pm
Forum: Cell Biology
Topic: mitotic/meiotic reproduction ratio?
Replies: 0
Views: 1377
View all matching forum results

This page was last modified 09:13, 27 April 2009. This page has been accessed 17,072 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link