(Science: zoology) The order of reptiles which includes the serpents.

The most important divisions are: the solenoglypha, having erectile perforated fangs, as the rattlesnake; the proteroglypha, or elapine serpents, having permanently erect fang, as the cobra; the Asinea, or colubrine serpents, which are destitute of fangs; and the Opoterodonta, or Epanodonta, blindworms, in which the mouth is not dilatable.

Origin: NL, fr. Gr, dim. Of a snake.

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

This page was last modified on 10 April 2007, at 20:06. This page has been accessed 4,172 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link