Meiosis I


The first of the two consecutive divisions of the nucleus of eukaryotic cell during meiosis, and composed of the following stages: prophase I, metaphase I, anaphase I, and telophase I.


Briefly, the process starts when the chromosomes condense along the center of the nucleus (prophase I), and pair with their homologues during crossing over (metaphase I). Next, the pairs of chromosomes separate and move to opposite ends of the cell (anaphase I). The cell divides for the first time producing two cells (telophase I). The two cells will undergo meiosis II wherein both of them divide further into two cells.

Also called: first meiotic division

Compare: meiosis II
See also: meiosis

Retrieved from ""
First | Previous (Meiosis) | Next (Meiosis II) | Last
Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page.