One of the indian ocean islands, east of madagascar. Its capital is port louis. It was discovered by the portugese in 1505, occupied by the dutch 1598-1710, held by the french 1715-1810 when the british captured it, formally ceded to the british in 1814, and became independent in 1968. It was named by the dutch in honor of maurice of nassau, prince of orange (1567-1625).

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

This page was last modified on 3 October 2005, at 21:16. This page has been accessed 1,120 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link