Dictionary » M » Master gland

Master gland



The pituitary gland, i.e. the small endocrine gland responsible for the release of different hormones that regulate different physiological processes


The master gland pertains to the pituitary gland of the endocrine system. It is comprised of three lobes: adenohypophysis (anterior), neurohypophysis (posterior), and pars intermedia. The main function of this gland is to secrete hormones that regulate growth and metabolic processes in animals.


Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

Results from our forum

Endocrine glands

pituitary gland is the master of our endocrine gland

See entire post
by theodoravoon
Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:12 am
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: Endocrine glands
Replies: 2
Views: 3092

Homeostasis and Chemical Control.. help, due on monday!!!!!!

... ____. 3-7 Google the terms... 9. http://www.google.com/search?q=adrenal+gland+vaso&btnG=Search&hl=en&lr=&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=Q6z Btw, the pituitary is also known as the master gland.

See entire post
by mith
Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:41 pm
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: Homeostasis and Chemical Control.. help, due on monday!!!!!!
Replies: 9
Views: 4110

The Fiber Disease

... Check it out! There is a master list of over 100 dead scientists Also, while there- check out the ... hormone due to iodine like valence effects, it damages the pineal gland and the melatonin / serotonin hormones, it contributes to arterial ...

See entire post
by J Jill
Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:18 am
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: The Fiber Disease
Replies: 7403
Views: 6264700

pituitary gland

... info needed....maybe this will help you get started.... Pituitary: The Master Gland (There are three divisions) Located in the base of the brain. A. Anterior Lobe- Adenohypophysis ...

See entire post
by cardiorrhexis
Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:30 am
Forum: Human Biology
Topic: pituitary gland
Replies: 2
Views: 3781

This page was last modified 10:37, 27 February 2014. This page has been accessed 4,436 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link