Illness period



The period during which the clinical symptoms of the disease manifests


The illness period is the third of the four major stages of infectious disease. The first is the incubation period followed by prodromal period. After prodromal is the illness period.

During the illness stage, symptoms characteristic of a particular disease are recognized. It is also at this stage that the infectious disease is highly communicable. When the patient overcomes the disease, the ensuing stage is the convalescent period.

Also called:

  • illness stage

See also:

Please contribute to this project, if you have more information about this term feel free to edit this page

This page was last modified on 27 September 2011, at 09:26. This page has been accessed 11,547 times. 
What links here | Related changes | Permanent link