Login

Join for Free!
118343 members

Multicelular Organisms and Cell Colonies

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderator: BioTeam

Multicelular Organisms and Cell Colonies

Postby thorwaldsenb » Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:38 am

Hi, I'm studying biology in the university and I'm looking for help on a question I need to answer... How can we or how do biologists define the difference between a multicellular organism like a protist algae and a colony of single-celled creatures like bacteria? Thanks for any answers and/or links to papers on the subject!

p.s. I'm new here so if I'm going about this forum thing the wrong way, I mean no offense! :wink:
thorwaldsenb
Garter
Garter

Postby Poison » Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:09 pm

As much as I know colonies (like volvox) have specialized cells for certain activities like reproducion. But colonies cannot form tissues while multicellular organisms can.
It matters not how strait the gate
How charged with punishment the scroll
I am the Master of my fate
I am the Captain of my soul.
Poison
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Postby 2810712 » Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:14 am

The division of labour is done to a lesser degree in colonies of microbes , sometimes it is even absent . But, the same is seen in multicellulars to a higher degree. Thus, the cells in a colony are less differentiated , than the cells in a tissue. Thus , the members of a colony depend on each others to a lesser extent than those in multicellulars, tha's why we don't group them to a single organism.

hope this helps.

thanks,

hrushikesh
King Cobra
King Cobra

Postby MrMistery » Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:58 pm

If you cut a colony in half the members will probably survive but what were to happen if someone were to cut you or me in half???
:):):)
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter
MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan