Login

Join for Free!
118879 members


Bacteriophage

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderator: BioTeam

Bacteriophage

Postby bill1 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:08 am

How to find phage specific for bacteria?
bill1
Garter
Garter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:11 pm

Postby JackBean » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:29 am

Each bacteriophage?
http://www.biolib.cz/en/main/

Cis or trans? That's what matters.
User avatar
JackBean
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 5690
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: Bacteriophage

Postby Rubin » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:19 pm

what are the sequences in the bacteriophage dna which help them for the specificity of the bacteria?
Rubin
Garter
Garter
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:08 pm


Postby plasmodesmata11 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:29 am

It would be what codes for the glycoprotein "legs" or "spikes" that bind with receptors on the membrane
plasmodesmata11
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:51 am
Location: University of Rhode Island

Postby mith » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:37 am

make variety of phages
bind phages to bacteria
separate out bacteria
wash off phages.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
~Niebuhr
User avatar
mith
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 5345
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:14 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Postby MrMistery » Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:09 am

@mith

here's a simpler way: go on pubmed, it's probably already been done for most phages.
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter
User avatar
MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: Romania(small and unimportant country)


Return to Molecular Biology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests