Login

Join for Free!
118288 members


Vivantis Bacterial DNA extraction kit

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderator: BioTeam

Vivantis Bacterial DNA extraction kit

Postby magicsiew » Mon May 17, 2010 4:39 pm

I am using Vivantis Bacterial DNA extraction kit to extract DNA from Achantameoba culture. I follow exactly the protocol provided along with the kit. However, the amount of DNA that I able to able to extract is very minute, with concentration just few ng/ul when measure by NanoQuant. No band formed from AGE. I repeat twice and get the same result. Anyone got any idea what is the problem?
magicsiew
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:07 pm

Postby canalon » Fri May 28, 2010 1:14 pm

I am neither familiar with the vivantis kit nor with achantamobea, but often those kits are tested with common lab cultures of a few Gram + and - and may not work as well with other species (or even environmental isolates). Usually because the cell wall is different is different and not properly degraded.
In your kit they seem to rely on proteinase K, just like Qiagen, and in my experience it is far form good for even E. coli environmental isolates.
There are alternative technologies to lyse the cells: bead beating (great for everything, but lots of shearing), boiling or even autoclaving, other chemicals...
Maybe you could have a look at the literature for your organism to see what people usually use.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)
User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Postby magicsiew » Sun May 30, 2010 1:44 pm

Hi there, yes I have search for some literature and found there this Acanthamoeba need some pre-treatment before the commercial kits. By the way, how do you mean by autoclaving to lyse the cell? Usually in which step we can do autoclave?
magicsiew
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:07 pm


Postby canalon » Mon May 31, 2010 9:31 pm

I mean that:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14744443
I have not tried, because at the time it could have been interesting I could not access to the programs of the autoclave, and now, it is of no use to me...
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)
User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Postby JackBean » Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:50 am

I thought, that autoclaving destroys the DNA...
http://www.biolib.cz/en/main/

Cis or trans? That's what matters.
User avatar
JackBean
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 5678
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: Vivantis Bacterial DNA extraction kit

Postby canalon » Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:56 am

It does after a while, in this case, the time spent at high temperature is very limited enough to cause the bacteria to lyse, but not enough to destroy DNA. That is one reason you need to have the rights to program your autoclave to use this method, since your usual programs are quite useless.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)
User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Postby JackBean » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:13 am

so it's basically the same as when you use bacteria directly for PCR...
http://www.biolib.cz/en/main/

Cis or trans? That's what matters.
User avatar
JackBean
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 5678
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:12 pm

Postby canalon » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:11 pm

Yes and No. Because many bacteria will not break open with just boiling.
Direct colony PCR is nice for your average E. coli but will fail with many natural isolates with capsules. And this is also very true with other groups such as Gram positive that are in general much harder to lyse with simple boiling. Autoclave on the other hand is supposed to be universally efficicent.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)
User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Postby magicsiew » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:23 am

I have take a look at my lab autoclave machine.. I think I cant change the setting, as just got the Start and Stop button along with the meters only. However, i do found some can change the setting, just that not yet getting the approval...
magicsiew
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:07 pm

Postby canalon » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:00 am

Let us know if it works well.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)
User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Postby magicsiew » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:33 pm

Not sure if the lab officer allow me to change the setting or not yet. If allow to do so, will let you all know.
magicsiew
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:07 pm


Return to Molecular Biology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests