Login

Join for Free!
119261 members


Folding@Home Team - Biology-Online.org

Debate and discussion of any biological questions not pertaining to a particular topic.

Moderator: BioTeam

Postby biostudent84 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:21 pm

I'm getting 24 seconds a frame. But that's just on my laptop.

1.6 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 32 MB Video Memory.

We'll see what it does on my desktop. It's a bit more powerful.
Last edited by biostudent84 on Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:00 am
Location: Farmville, VA

Postby mith » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:25 pm

A t-1 is 1.5 mbits/sec
A t-3 is 45 mbits/sec

My computer is taking like 5 mins per frame and it's a new 3.2ghz laptop :(
User avatar
mith
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
 
Posts: 5345
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:14 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Postby b_d_41501 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:34 pm

I do believe it is a T1.
"Take four red capsules, in ten minutes take two more. Help is on the way."
----- Voice from the Medicine Cabinet
User avatar
b_d_41501
King Cobra
King Cobra
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Kentucky


Postby biostudent84 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:37 pm

mithrilhack wrote:A t-1 is 1.5 mbits/sec
A t-3 is 45 mbits/sec

My computer is taking like 5 mins per frame and it's a new 3.2ghz laptop :(


Yep, but he was talking in megabytes a second.

How much video memory do you have? That is where most bottlenecks of this kind of program occur.
User avatar
biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:00 am
Location: Farmville, VA

Postby b_d_41501 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:45 pm

256 MB Video Memory
512 MB RAM
Pentium 4, 2.40 Ghz
"Take four red capsules, in ten minutes take two more. Help is on the way."
----- Voice from the Medicine Cabinet
User avatar
b_d_41501
King Cobra
King Cobra
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Kentucky

Postby biostudent84 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:50 pm

b_d_41501 wrote:256 MB Video Memory
512 MB RAM
Pentium 4, 2.40 Ghz


Is it a 64-bit processor? I need one of those.
User avatar
biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:00 am
Location: Farmville, VA

Postby b_d_41501 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:02 pm

Yeah, i think it is. It is definitely nice. Mine's a Dell
"Take four red capsules, in ten minutes take two more. Help is on the way."
----- Voice from the Medicine Cabinet
User avatar
b_d_41501
King Cobra
King Cobra
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Kentucky

Postby biostudent84 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:16 pm

b_d_41501 wrote:Yeah, i think it is. It is definitely nice. Mine's a Dell


64-bit processors only came out within the last few months. I have a dell laptop that's less than a year old and it doesn't have one...
User avatar
biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:00 am
Location: Farmville, VA

Postby Zachthemac » Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:45 pm

I had a 7500 frame WU like I said earlier and it only took around 2 days (my proc isn't all that fast either), because larger WUs use the GROMACs core, which is faster, rather than the AMBER core that smaller WUs use. So processor isn't the only thing that affects speed, the work unit itself has a role.

For some calculations, gromacs affords benefits over the current code in Folding@Home (the current code is based on Jay Ponder's Tinker), especially a great speed increase (perhaps up to 10x-20x). This will substantially increase the power of Folding@Home for many calculations.

http://folding.stanford.edu/gromacs.html
Zachthemac
Garter
Garter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:57 pm

Postby biostudent84 » Tue Jun 14, 2005 1:36 am

I want to get one of those overclocked video cards and try the program out. I'm sure it would work wonders, not only for that, but for my gaming ;) ;) ;)
User avatar
biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:00 am
Location: Farmville, VA

Postby b_d_41501 » Tue Jun 14, 2005 3:34 am

Definitely for gaming
"Take four red capsules, in ten minutes take two more. Help is on the way."
----- Voice from the Medicine Cabinet
User avatar
b_d_41501
King Cobra
King Cobra
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Kentucky

Postby Chris4 » Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:29 am

biostudent84 wrote:I want to get one of those overclocked video cards and try the program out. I'm sure it would work wonders, not only for that, but for my gaming ;) ;) ;)


Overclocking may cause your system to become unstable and overheat and running this program could cause your whole system to crash. But I guess if you overclock it properly it should be stable :?
Thats what i read on the Folding@home forum...
Would be great for gaming :D
User avatar
Chris4
Coral
Coral
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: UK

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests